top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

Demand Better Diabetes Care


Having badly controlled Type 1 Diabetes for almost 20 years its not out the question to imagine that my health might have suffered a fair bit and hearing an ophthalmologist say "you have diabetic retinopathy" and a nephrologist say "you need a kidney and pancreas transplant" might be more palatable or even expected, but no. I don't think anyone can prepare for rubbish news like that.

I'm not a fool. I knew the risks. I knew that badly controlled diabetes equals increased chances of diabetic eye disease, vision loss, kidney disease, loss of limbs, damage to the nervous system, the list goes on, but also thought "It won't happen it me" Well it did. So what now, I guess if there is anything I can do, I should spread the word and hope that it reaches someone who is also thinking it won't happen to them.

Okay so here's the thing, My diabetes was virtually impossible to control but now I am on an insulin pump, I've got it under control but I should have insisted on getting a pump a long time ago, who knows how different things would be for me now? If I had been given a pump 5 or 10 years ago, it might have saved my limbs from painful diabetic neuropathy, my kidneys from Chronic Kidney Disease, my eyes, my everything. If you can't control your diabetes don't feel embarrassed or ashamed like I did. Tell your doctor that you need help and insist you get every bit of help that is available to you. The help is there, but unless you demand it, you won't get it.

Nobody will judge you for admitting that this crippling, life-limiting, 24/7 unrelenting, consuming, horrible, rubbish, ugly disease called diabetes that you got through no fault of your own is more than you can handle alone. Diabetes is by far the biggest challenge I have faced but I now realise that with education, knowledge, support, dedication, and the right care it can be controlled and when you get that control its the best feeling. When I test my blood sugar and its in target not only do I feel relief, I feel proud and happy. and the fear of what damage out of target bloods can do is gone. You deserve that feeling.

If you are struggling, book an appointment with your healthcare professional and Demand Better Diabetes Care.

My

bottom of page