top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

Sea, Sand and Sunburn


So this week I found out that Diabetics are even more prome to SUNBURN than most people and getting sunburn can effect your glucose levels! I love sitting in the sun and I usually don't burn, however the last few times I have burnt very easily and this last sunworshipping sesh really messed with my fabulousness! I burnt my face, chest and stomach and I wasn't even in the sun very long. I am going on holiday in two weeks and now I'm really frightened that I will burn again. So it's factor 1000 for me. I used coconut oil and mint leaves to sooth the burning and witch hazel gel to settle the irritation. That aside I stayed out of the sun few the next few days. I did notice a small rise in my blood sugars and I think I had a little sunstroke, so please take care when you are out there next time. The blog on the ADA said this about sunbathing diabetes style..

Although we know that wearing sunscreen is important to stave off skin cancer, preventing sunburns they can also help diabetes. If you've ever noticed wonky blood sugars after a sunburn, you're not crazy for thinking there is a connection. That's because having a sunburn is an injury to the skin, and while the skin is healing, the body is under stress, just like an illness. Crazy high blood sugars from a cold or flu are pretty common, but they can also happen while healing from a sunburn! Make sure to wear sunscreen and reapply often. Limit your sun exposure and remember to keep hydrated.

bottom of page